The Seven Living Virtues*: Fortitude

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenges and controversy.” ― Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.


No one ever promised us a life free from difficulties, trouble, suffering, or sorrow.  Or, if they did, as well-intentioned as they were, they shouldn’t have. Some in fact believe that our souls deliberately chose the lessons we wanted to learn in this life before coming here. “Lessons” generally mean “difficulties, trouble, suffering, and sorrow” we can learn from.

Even those whose lives seem incredibly easy generally have adversity to deal with, and regardless of whether others are sympathetic to their “First-World” problems, to the person facing them, they are real.  We all face trials in different forms; the difference is how different people respond to them. Ideally we have an underlying confidence that all will turn out well despite being distressed at a particular moment, and we have the deep-seated certainty that we’ll get through whatever is troubling us.

It takes patience to be able to overcome the difficult situations that life tosses our way.  Having a firm and calm mind and spirit even in the midst of those difficult situations is fortitude.


* The seven living virtues are the positive version of seven deadly sins. This entry is part of a seven-part series:

  1. Fortitude
  2. Honor
  3. Compassion
  4. Charity
  5. Acceptance
  6. Forgiveness
  7. Humility

The idea is to learn to recognize and cultivate these traits in yourself, and to recognize and appreciate others who have them, with the intention of being happier and more fulfilled while on the path to accomplishing your goals.


The Seven Living Virtues*: Fortitude — 3 Comments

  1. Pingback: The Seven Living Virtues*: Humility

  2. Pingback: The Seven Living Virtues*: Forgiveness

  3. Pingback: The Seven Living Virtues: Honor |